School of Physical Sciences

department of
Applied Physics

About Us


Our Department

Staff of the Department was initially at Nyankpala Campus of the University for Development Studies as a servicing Unit to the Faculty of Agriculture. They were moved to the Navrongo Campus of the University during the 2002/2003 academic year as part of the four initial Departments namely:

Applied Physics, Applied Chemistry, Applied Biology and Applied Mathematics of the Faculty of Applied Sciences to start new programs leading to the award of degrees in the Applied Sciences.

The Applied Physics Department got the first batch of students during the 2003/04 academic year with twenty (24) pioneer students. Twenty-three (23) – students of the first batch of students of the Department graduated on 23rd December, 2006.

As at that time the student population of the Department comprised of seventy (70) males and one (1) female with four (4) lecturers, one (1) administrative staff and one (1) technician with Dr. O. A Obawole as the Head of Department. The number of students currently on the Applied Physics program is thirty nine (39). Academic staff strength stands as thirteen (17); six (6) Senior Lecturers and seven (7) lecturers.

It is quite interesting to note that currently two of the products of the Department are currently serving as lecturers in the University for Development Studies and C.K Tedam University of Technology and Applied Science;

Available information indicates that a good number of our products are pursuing various postgraduate programs/degrees competing favorably in Universities around the globe. At least five (5) are on record to have graduated with Ph.D. degrees.

Our Vision​

The aims of the undergraduate program is to train Applied Physicist who can contribute effectively to the socio-economic development of the nation through the application of sustainable technological innovations premised on sound principles of physics.

Equip graduates to apply physical laws/principles to the challenges confronting nation building in recent times.

Our Objectives

The objectives of the undergraduate programmes are to:

  • Develop in students sound understanding of the underlying scientific principles of technical systems and industrial processes.
  • Equip students with the capacity/ability to apply theoretical knowledge of physics in solving local technological and industrial problems
  • Develop the creative talents of students for indigenous technologies
  • Appreciate the use of theoretical and experimental physics as a tool to furthering the development of the country
  • Develop the skills in the use of modern technology such as computer and data communication or information and communication technology for national discourse
  • Orient the student towards research and identification of problems, the solution of which will enhance scientific and technological advancement of the country also graduates from the program will be equipped to pursue further studies in competitive disciplines at postgraduate in some of the following fields among a host of other disciplines in the social sciences:
    •  Medical Physics
    •  Geophysics
    • Meteorology and Climate Science
    • Material Science
    • Nuclear Physics
    • Appropriate Technology
    • Telecommunications
    • Electrical/Electronic Technology

The Department hopes to mount new undergraduate programs for the award of

  • B.Sc. (Hons) Telecommunications Technology,
  • B.Sc. (Hons) Electrical and Electronics Technology,
  • B.Sc. (Hons) Material Science and Engineering,
  • BSc.(Hons) Geophysics

as well as postgraduate programs

  • PhD Physics,
  • M.Phil. Physics and
  • M.Sc. Physics

in addition to the B.Sc. (Hons) Applied Physics program offered by the Department.